Virginia Racing Commission

MINUTES

OF THE

COMMISSION MEETING

February 27, 2024

Colonial Downs
3rd Floor
10515 Colonial Downs Parkway
New Kent, VA 23124

In Attendance

Commission Members:

Stephanie B. Nixon, Chair John F. Tanner Jr., Vice Chair Stuart C. Siegel Bette Brand Gillan Gordon-Moore

Commission Staff:

David S. Lermond, Jr., Executive Secretary Kimberly C. Mackey, Director of Operations Ada K. Caruthers, DVM, Equine Medical Director Yolanda Lopez Macias, Commission Veterinarian

Attorney General's Office:	
Elizabeth Myers, Esqu	ire

y , 1

At 11:00 a.m., Chair Nixon called the regular monthly meeting of the Virginia Racing Commission (VRC) to order.

Chair Nixon welcomed new Commissioner Gillian Gordon-Moore.

Commissioner Siegel nominated Commissioner Tanner as the Vice Chair. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Brand and the vote was as follows: Commissioner Siegel, aye; Commissioner Gordon-Moore, aye; Chair Nixon, aye; Vice Chair, Tanner, aye; Commissioner Brand, aye.

Commissioner Siegel moved to approve the minutes of the meeting held on December 6, 2023. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Brand and the vote was as follows: Commissioner

Siegel, aye; Commissioner Gordon-Moore, aye; Chair Nixon, aye; Vice Chair, Tanner, aye; Commissioner Brand, aye.

Commissioner Brand moved to approve the Limited License for the Virginia Gold Cup Association for 2024 (spring and fall race days) to include the two conditions set forth in the staff report. The motion was seconded by Vice Chair Tanner and the vote was as follows: Commissioner Siegel, aye; Commissioner Gordon-Moore, aye; Chair Nixon, aye; Vice Chair, Tanner, aye; Commissioner Brand, aye.

Commissioner Siegel moved to approve the Racing Officials for the 2024 Virginia Gold Cup Races. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Brand and the vote was as follows: Commissioner Siegel, aye; Commissioner Gordon-Moore, aye; Chair Nixon, aye; Vice Chair, Tanner, aye; Commissioner Brand, aye.

Commissioner Brand moved to approve the Limited License for Virginia Downs Foundation for 2024 to include the two conditions set forth in the staff report. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Siegel and the vote was as follows: Commissioner Siegel, aye; Commissioner Gordon-Moore, aye; Chair Nixon, aye; Vice Chair, Tanner, aye; Commissioner Brand, aye.

Vice Chair Tanner moved to approve the VHHA's withdrawal of administrative costs from the horsemen's purse account for 2024 in the amount of \$70,385. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Brand and the vote was as follows: Commissioner Siegel, aye; Commissioner Gordon-Moore, aye; Chair Nixon, aye; Vice Chair, Tanner, aye; Commissioner Brand, aye.

Commissioner Siegel moved to approve the Colonial Downs Group's Capital Expenditures using its share of the breakage from 2024 in the amount of \$626,307.81. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Brand and the vote was as follows: Commissioner Siegel, aye; Commissioner Gordon-Moore, aye; Chair Nixon, aye; Vice Chair, Tanner, aye; Commissioner Brand, aye.

Jeff Hopf, Senior Director of Racing Operations gave an update on plans for the upcoming Thoroughbred race meeting to include facility improvements and the marketing of live racing.

Jill Byrne, Vice President of the VEA gave an update on the marketing initiative for the Virginia Horse Industry.

At 1:10 p.m., Chair Nixon read the following motion:

"I move that we convene a closed meeting in accordance with the Virginia Freedom of Information Act. The purpose of this meeting is to discuss personnel matters. The subject of this meeting is to discuss job performance of Commission staff. The applicable exemption from open meeting requirements under the Freedom of Information Act is § 2.2-3711.A.1." The motion was seconded by Vice Chair Tanner and the vote was as follows: Commissioner Siegel, aye; Commissioner Gordon-Moore, aye; Chair Nixon, aye; Vice Chair, Tanner, aye; Commissioner Brand, aye.

Returning from closed session, Chair Nixon read the following motion:

"I move that we vote on and record our certification that to the best of each member's knowledge (i) only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements under this chapter and (ii) only such public business matters as were identified in the motion by which the closed meeting was convened were heard, discussed or considered in the meeting by the public body." The vote was as follows: Commissioner Siegel, aye; Commissioner Gordon-Moore, aye; Chair Nixon, aye; Vice Chair, Tanner, aye; Commissioner Brand, aye.

The next meeting is scheduled for May 22, 2024, at 11:00 a.m.

With no further business set forth on the agenda, the meeting was adjourned at 1:10 p.m.